RSS

Money Makes Everything Better

16 Sep

I got an e-mail last week telling me that my former Boss was dissolving the company’s retirement plan. I’ve been letting the money sit there, increasing and decreasing in value, for about eight years now. A couple of years ago it was worth pretty much nothing, but the last statement I received showed marked improvement. The way the old plan worked I really couldn’t access the cash very easily and there were stiff penalties for early withdrawal. I opted to leave it alone in the hope that it would grow.

Since I am no longer an employee with the company, my money has to be moved somewhere else. One option is into an IRA account that I have very easy access to. I can call them up and they will cut a check. Any time. I will have to pay taxes, but the penalties are almost nil.

M listened to the phone conversation with the financial planner. The account holds well over $10K at the moment.

He’s been all Sweetness and Light for the last three days, asking me what I plan to do with all that cash as I’ve never had that much in one place at one time in all my life (be sure to read that with a huge condescending accent.) Protestations of love and devotion are just flying out of his mouth. He even apologised for yelling at me this morning!*

The paperwork is on the way and I should have access to my cash within two weeks.

* It was about soap. He insists that he must use antibacterial soap. He’s out. I could give a shit. There is plenty of hand-made goat’s milk soap in the house, but he refuses to even try it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Money Makes Everything Better

  1. Paula

    September 16, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Slime ball. Nothing can wash that away. Hehe!

     
  2. Awana

    September 16, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    THat is soooo male with the anti-b soap–if he is so smart, he would know that it is just setting him up for infections, instead. Men are like that–so stuck on their silly ideas… the ultimate tacky insult–trying to get at your money. Good thing you are not married–I divorced in a community property state and ended up with nothing., because it was all mine from working. Sigh…10K is nothing these days–put it away!!!! Women need their own little bit of money (I say little bit because that’s all we’ll ever have).

     
    • iwonttakeit

      September 17, 2012 at 3:27 pm

      Yeah, I’ve used that Scientific Evidence argument, but he knows everything about everything, so it was ignored. This AM he complains that his head itches after using the soap on his (very short) hair. Well, duh! After years and years of using nasty harsh detergents on his skin, he now “gets greasy” at the drop of a hat as his body tries to compensate for the natural oil loss. There is an adjustment period, but he won’t listen to anything I try to explain – it’s so much easier to complain about an “inferior product” than to admit that he’s been using the wrong soap all his life.

      The point is moot – I picked up the soap that he likes last night when I was shopping for groceries and he can go back to what he’s used to at any time. Oh, it’s just pointless!

      The money will be my Emergency Fund, earmarked for making my escape if it becomes necessary to do so in a hurry.

       

Leave a Reply

 
