RSS

The Heart of the Matter?

15 Jun

Here we are at the middle of the month, and still no blow-up. Instead I got a little glimpse inside M’s head while he had his guard down. We were eating dinner and chatting about I don’t even know what when he said, “You know, I really hate to be wrong.”

“No one can be right all the time. That’s just not possible. You’re not god,” I replied.

“I know, but I still want to be right.”

“What if you’re not?”

“I hate that – it means that someone else is right and I hate that.”

Instead of hammering on him to explain, I let it go, but it’s been simmering in the back of my mind ever since. It explains a lot. It justifies nothing, but it does explain why he insists on deconstructing, minimizing and outright denying any intelligent thought I might have if it goes against what he believes is right. What a putz.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2012 in Today, Truth?

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “The Heart of the Matter?

  1. Paula

    June 22, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    People who need to control everything and everyone must be right all the time. Children. Children need to be right always. Dictators. Dictators need to be right always. Judges. Judges need to be right all the time. Hmmmm? He’s none of these things do what he needs to do is get over it and respect you or you need to leave him and respect yourself. Aaahhhh!! It’s maddening. 🙂

     
  2. iwonttakeit

    June 22, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    I do respect myself. I spend a lot of time trying to figure out the words I need to use to make him see what a dick he’s being. And then I forget why I even care 🙂

     
    • Paula

      June 22, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      Okay. That made me laugh. You probably can’t stand looking at him at this point, huh? I got to the point that whenever my X spoke a word, any word, in my direction or in the direction of my son, I was overcome by an extremely strong desire to punch him in the face. I don’t know how I controlled the urge, to be honest. 🙂

       
  3. iwonttakeit

    June 22, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    Actually, this relationship has turned into an experiment in my mind – I’m curious to see how he will react to my finding a backbone but I no longer care about any negative consequences. Detachment is good 🙂 A nap would be better, but I can’t have everything…

     
  4. El Guapo

    January 2, 2013 at 12:04 pm

    Hopefully, knowing how he feels makes it a little easier to defend against…

     

Leave a Reply

 
