RSS

The Phone Call

30 May

A couple of weeks ago one of M’s clients called and I picked up the phone. This guy talks A LOT. In fact, the first thing he ever said to me was, “I talk too much. I hope you don’t mind.” Well, he got going about greenhouse construction, gardening, etc. and I spent 15 minutes chatting with him. I finally handed him off to M and went about my day.

After M got off the phone, he told me that I had no business talking to “that man” in such a casual manner – he was M’s client and I should have nothing to say, blah, blah, blah. Okie-dokie!

Today a friend of M’s and I called. I picked up the phone. I’ve visited (with M, of course) this man’s house, he has visited here and I consider us friends. He sounded kind of down, but I handed him off to M as quickly as I could.

After the conversation was over I asked M if B felt okay, as he sounded kind of down, “but I didn’t ask because I didn’t want to be accused of flirting or inappropriate conversation.”

M said, “Maybe I should just move out. There are too many grudges here.”

I said that I was only joking. “Didn’t sound like a joke,” he replied.

I let it ride and left the room. Later I apologized (not very sincerely) if I was out of line. “It’s me who’s out of line, obviously,” he replied.

I left for work and let him brood all day.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 30, 2012 in Digging Out, Today

 

Tags:

4 responses to “The Phone Call

  1. Paula

    June 14, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    Apologize? You didn’t do anything…

     
  2. iwonttakeit

    June 16, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    You’re right, I did nothing wrong, but I didn’t really apologize, either. My tone made it clear that I was only following the script that he has written for us wherein I apologize for anything and everything, even if it was he who should have apologized. It has become a knee-jerk reaction that I’m only recently gaining control over. The look on his face tells me that he has noticed my shift of awareness. He’s not happy about it, I can tell you with much glee in my voice 🙂 Our dynamic has changed in my favor and he’s still re-grouping. It will be interesting to see what his next move is.

     

Leave a Reply

 
