RSS

Why I hate Winter…

08 Dec

This -

DSCN0447Is one of the many reasons I hate Winter. That’s my car with chains on the front. We have ~6″ of packed snow on the roads. For whatever reason said roads are not being plowed. Oh, sure, they’ve scattered a bit of gravel about, but the roads look more like mashed potatoes with pepper than well-sanded car avenues.

That’s all well and fine. Maybe plowing isn’t in the budget. Whatever. No, my complaint is about the assholes that should not be on the roads. My Mama didn’t raise a fool – if the log trucks AND the UPS trucks are chained up, you better get home or put on chains yourself because those suicide jockeys don’t waste time putting chains on until the situation is dire.

I chained up in the Bi-Mart parking lot Friday afternoon. I had to go buy new boots because I noticed on Thursday night the rubber had finally cracked on the old ones, negating their waterproof qualities. Believe me, I didn’t want to be out driving in the snow!

Two cars almost hit me as I was putting on the fancy “European Hoop Style” tire chains. Really? There’s 4 inches of snow on the ground and you’re driving like it’s a bright Summer day, blasting out from between cars to get that much closer to the door? I guess the 3 cans for a buck chili deal was too hot to refuse.

Whatever. I took the back road home as there should have been fewer people on it, but no. They were passing me! And giving me rude gestures! Srsly? WTF is wrong with people? What is the rush all about?

Since then I’ve had to go out twice and both times people were driving way too fast. The roads are now packed snow and ice. Plenty slippery. I drive a really small car. I don’t want some asshole in a SUV to push me off the road because he thinks 4WD means Can Go Anywhere at Any Speed. Gaaaahhhhh!

Just fucking go home and let me creep along in peace.

To top it all off, the water is frozen. It’s a long story that I’ll post tomorrow. Here’s a cute picture of a cat enjoying Mr. Right Toasty -

DSCN0452

Revy loooooves Mr. Right Toasty!

 

 

Tags: , ,

16 responses to “Why I hate Winter…

  1. Twindaddy

    December 8, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    It’s not me a worry about while driving in the snow. It’s the other idiots out there. And the people in 4WD SUV’s piss me off.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 9, 2013 at 8:34 am

      You and me, both! Their sense of entitlement really rankles…

       
      • Twindaddy

        December 9, 2013 at 8:40 am

        Yes, it does.

         
  2. Annie Chace

    December 8, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    Reblogged this on Parrots, Prose, and Poetry and commented:
    I’m not a winter fan, either!

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 9, 2013 at 8:34 am

      Thank you for the re-blog!

       
  3. The Cutter

    December 8, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    I don’t mind driving in the snow. I mind other people driving in the snow.

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 9, 2013 at 8:34 am

      Exactly! It’s not like this was unexpected. People who don’t know how to drive in the snow or who are not equipped to drive on ice and snow could have stocked up on supplies and stayed the fuck at home, leaving the roads clear for people like me who had no choice but to be out. Gaaaahhhhhhh!

       
      • The Cutter

        December 9, 2013 at 9:13 am

        Although I could also do without the frantic rush to the supermarket also.

         
      • Sofia Leo

        December 9, 2013 at 9:20 am

        I know, right? With all of the electronic gadgetry we all have, people STILL don’t see a storm coming and stock up well in advance? I wish I knew what they were thinking. No, maybe I don’t want to know – The Stupid would just make me mad…

         
  4. Awana

    December 9, 2013 at 12:22 am

    …as he should!!

    Three cans for a buck chili? What a fabulous description of grossness, never mind the stupidity…

     
    • Sofia Leo

      December 9, 2013 at 8:33 am

      You know Bi-Mart always has sales on crappy, unhealthy food and the rednecks flock there to buy it by the case. Gross, but whatever.

       
  5. behindthemaskofabuse

    December 9, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    We feel your pain up here too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Finding Twindaddy

Self discovery after a second divorce and coping with depression

SociopathLife.Com

A Site For Learning About Narcissist Sociopath

tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Mostly unfinished stories primarily produced as a direct result of my association with the OC Writers Guild

The Ink Stain

Hi everyone! This is my blog, and this is where I post all of my stories. Writing is my favorite thing to do, and I love nothing more than this. I would appreciate it if you took the time to read my stories! If you like the blog, please share it with more people. Thank you!

My Silent Secret

Silenced in real life. Free to scream with typed words.

The Galloping Heart

"My story doesn't define me."

Cursitivity

For when your fucked up childhood stops fucking you up and starts making you laugh...

Vampire Maman

Musings of a Modern Vampire Mom

A Girl With A Lot of Gut

Be Bold, Be Brave, Be GUTsy!

jisbell22

Random Observations of life

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

The Nudge Wink Report

Hilarious comic-tary on news, views, and attitudes. Every Saturday morning.

narcopathcrusher

revenge, success, narcissists, psychopaths, abuse, healing, sex, japan, dating

Life After an Emotionally Abusive Relationship

33 Grams of Blog

Procrastinating, Kingdom Saving, and all other forms of Geekdom

Memoir Notes

for memoir writers & aspiring memoir writers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 898 other followers

